lunes, 23 de marzo de 2009

GLAAD honors "The L Word"

On Wednesday, The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) announced the special awards recipients for the Los Angeles presentation of the 20th Annual GLAAD Media Awards to be held on April 19. The awards recognize fair and inclusive portrayals in the media of the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender community.

The L Word, whose sixth and final season just concluded, will receive a Special Recognition Award. L Word creator Ilene Chaiken, along with cast members Jennifer Beals, Leisha Hailey, Kate Moennig and Pam Grier, will accept the award.

Despite its incomprehensible plot twists, descent into camp melodrama and unsatisfying ending, there is no question that The L Word was a groundbreaking series that brought visibility to lesbians. Furthermore, The L Word not only attracted lesbians but also straight viewers like moths to a flame every Sunday to see a group of fictional women in West Hollywood laugh with and love each other as they jumped through bizarre hoops placed in front of them by Team Chaiken. As much as we loved to hate The L Word, the show certainly deserves a parting gift from the community that comprised both its core subject and its audience.

Fuente: Grace Chu -

1 comentario:

  1. Me he enterado de todo, cenquiu verimas :p